Beet Avocado Salad

I’ve been trying to eat more vegetarian lately and wanted t get more creative with things I already had in my kitchen.  I found The First Mess blog on pinterest and its one of favorite blogs for beautiful and creative vegetarian dishes.  I had some beets on hand and wanted to try something new with them.  This recipe contains avocado and beets topped with Dukkah.   If you are like me and don’t know what Dukkah is, you can find my version here.

Beet Avocado Salad

1-2 avocados diced

4  large beets

1/4 cup chopped onion

2 garlic gloves chopped

6 ounces of goat cheese (or any type  you like, blue cheese or gorgonzola works well)

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

handful of basil chopped

4 tbs Dukkah

IMG_7229Wrap the beets in tin foil and roast in the oven for an 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours at 350 degrees.  You can also roast them over medium heat on the stove using a dutch oven for the same time or until tender.

Once the beets are done, wait till they are cool enough and peel the outer skin.  Chop beats to desired size and place into a medium size bowl.  Add the avocado, garlic, onions, and basil to the beets and toss.  Next, add the cider vinegar and basil and mix gently.  Top with with dukkah and your choice of cheese. YUM.

*Note*  I decided to be creative and top this salad over some Brazilian cheese bread.  Cheese bread recipe soon to come!

