Vegan Veggie Lunch (Spinach and Mushrooms)


I go through phases where I pretty much become a vegetarian when I cook at home, but eat meat when I go out.   Since I live in Philly, good food is reasonably priced…so I tend to go out enough to get a “meat fix”.  I generally stock my fridge pretty vegetable heavy and had recently bought a huge (pillow size) bag of spinach at the local reading terminal market.  I love spinach, especially steamed.  Though, I didn’t want to be boring and just eat steamed spinach for lunch so I decided to spice it up a side of soy mushrooms 🙂

IMG_7216

Vegan Veggie Lunch

1 tsp oil of choice

1 clove of garlic chopped or 1 tsp roasted garlic

2 tbs  onion chopped

1 tbs soy sauce (add to taste, may need more or less depending on preference)

1/2 cup diced mushrooms

1/2 cup diced tomato

1 bay leaf

IMG_7215

Add oil, garlic, onions, bay leaf and saute until the onions are translucent on medium heat. (If you are using roasted garlic, add with the veggies)  Steam the spinach separately, and set aside or leave in the pan to keep warm.  Turn the heat on high, add the  mushrooms, tomatoes and soy sauce and cook for about 2-3 minutes or until veggies are tender to you liking.  You can eat as is or serve it with a side of steamed rice or quinoa 🙂








