Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) – FAIL

UPDATE:

So I thought it was going well…for the first few weeks.  Then I noticed what a lot of others were experiencing.  I actually started to get clusters of acne along my hair and jaw line. It was getting pretty bad so I have given the OCM method a break 😦  Sadly, I really wanted it to work!  It does work for some people  though, so don’t shy away.  I think it’s work a try.  I gave this exact recipe to my friend Sarah who has normal to dry skin and she says it’s amazing.  I think at some point I will come back to this and possibly try jojoba oil instead of the grape seed.  Until then….

I recently starting reading about this new method of cleaning your face with oil.  I heard it works well for most people that try it and it’s great for acne prone skin.  I’ve been breaking out more than normal so I decided to give it a try. I’ve done quite a bit of research on what types of oils to use for different skins types and this site from Crunchy Betty  and The Oil Cleansing Method were the most informative.

MIX

I personally have very oily combination skin (also prone to breakouts) and my skin is very sensitive.  That being said I decided to try the grapeseed, castor oil and tea tree oil mix.  I’ve been doing it for about a week now and so far so good.  I also started using a drop of tea tree oil on my face, and doing spot treatments.  Castor oil is pretty drying and I heard the 50/50 mix of Castor to other oil can be pretty harsh.  I’m using 3/4 parts grapeseed,  1/4 part castor oils, plus a few drops of argan  oil tea tree oils.  If you are going to add essential oils they say 1 drop of oil per tsp of oil is good.  I may play around with the grapeseed/castor oil portions on my next round.  I originally stored the mix in an old jam jar which proved to be disastrous.  Jar slipped out of my hands and into the sink 😦  I was able to save  little of my mix at least.  That being said, I decided to purchase and more practical container at Marshals for $4.


photo 1

WASH

As for the “washing” part it’s a little more involved than the soap and water method.  First, take the oil and massage it directly onto your face without adding any water.  Do this for about 1 minute.  Next, take a hot wash cloth and drape it over your face for 30-40 seconds 2 to 3 times.  Be sure to rinse the wash cloth after each time.  The washcloths get dirty quickly so I only use the same wash cloth 2 or 3 times before I wash it.  If i’m slacking on doing a full load of laundry I just hand wash my washcloths and soak in vinegar.

RINSE

Once, your pores have opened up wipe off the oil and rinse with water.  I typically do this only every other day only at night.  Another method would be to hop in the shower with the oil applied and let the steam from your shower do the work.  Then I drape the washcloth over my face 1 or 2 times and rinse off.

RESULTS

As of now this mix is working well and my skin hasn’t really been shiny during the day at all, and I typically have really oily skin.  So bad that I would shine after 2 hours of applying mattifying powder and primer!  I’ve had a great experience so far and highly recommend giving it a go.

