Veggie Glass Noodle Soup

I was craving some hot soup on a chilly day.  What I really wanted was some Neoguri instant ramen but didn’t have any 😦 My cupboard was stocked with a lot of dried noodles so I opted to make my own version which is much healthier anyway.  After eating and drinking all weekend in New York…I was due for a healthy pick me up!

Veggie Glass Noodle Soup 
Makes about 2 servings

Glass Noodles

Broth

4 cups water
1/2 small onion (cut in half)
2 slices of ginger
2 gloves garlic smashed
1 bouillon cube
4 dried shitake mushrooms
1 tsp Golden Mountain Sauce (Buy at Asian store for about $4 dollars)
2 tsp soy sauce

Goods

2 cups dried vermicelli soaked (mung bean)
1 cup of mixed veggies your choice (I used carrots, mushrooms, kale and red peppers)
1 egg (cooked to your preference)
1 green onion sliced
handful of cilantro

To make the broth simmer the water, onion, garlic, ginger, bouillon and shitake mushrooms until the mushrooms are soft and plump about an hour for the most flavor.  Then add in the golden mountain sauce and soy sauce.  You may need to add more or less depending on your taste.

Veggie Glass Noodles

Steam your veggies, boil egg to desired taste (soft or hard…get your mind out of the gutter) and your soaked noodles to your serving bowl.

Pour broth over the “goods” and enjoy with cilantro and green onions.  Feel free to add some meat or tofu if you like.

 

