Coffee Cookie Crunch Ice Cream

Coffee Cookie Crunch Ice Cream

I think the title speaks for itself….AND….I love coffee.  I literally go to bed thinking about how I get to drink a cup of fresh brew in the morning!  Caffeine still does a number on me so I can only stick to one cup, but I savor every sip.  Its my friends birthday this wknd and she requested I make some homemade ice cream.  We both agreed coffee would be the perfect choice.  I decided to do a trial run and good thing I did…because I failed miserably.  Everything looked great…until I put the custard in the mixer and noticed it looked more like brown slush than ice cream.  First reason or failure was the fact I tried to use all half and half.  Secondly, I used liquid coffee.  I’ve read that half and half actually works quite well, but in this case I think the liquid coffee just watered it down too much.  I froze anyway and it turned out to be like a coffee sorbet, but still tasty.  So, it was back to the drawing board and found a coffee ice cream recipe off of simply recipes which seemed fitting.  This recipe calls for infusing the cream with whole coffee beans, which  means no watered down icy-ness.  I only had heavy cream and half and half, so I did 1 part half and half, one part heavy cream.

Coffee Ice Cream

1 1/2 cups whole milk (I used half and half)
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups whole coffee beans (you can use decaf)
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
5 large egg yolks
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used one tsp)
1/4 teaspoon finely ground coffee (press grinds through a fine mesh sieve – optional)
1 1/2 cups of crushed chocolate sandwich cookies
2 tbs Rum or any type of alcohol

Mix the milk, 1/2 cup of heavy cream, sugar, coffee beans, and salt until hot but not boiling. Cover and let sit for an hour to steep.

Coffee Cream and Sugar

Coffee Beans

Use the 1/2 cup of remaining cream and put in an ice bath bowl.  Heat the coffee/milk mixture up until it is steaming.  Whisk the egg yolks together in a separate bowl and add slowly add the coffee mixture to the eggs and temper.

Eggs Coffee Salt Vanilla

Then place this mixture back on the stove over medium heat until thick.  Test the thickness by running your finger across the back of the spoon.  If it doesn’t run, its good to go!

Thickened Coffee Egg Custard

Next, pour the coffee bean mixture over a strainer and add to the rest of the cream, toss in the vanilla extract and ground coffee beans.

Strained Coffee

Chill in the freezer or at least 2 hours or overnight.  (I chilled overnight).  Follow the instructions on your ice cream maker and be sure to take taste test along the way.

Coffee Custard Cream

I added the crushed cookies towards the end, and about  2 tbs of rum to keep the ice cream from becoming rock hard once it freezes.  Feel free to leave the cookies out or add some dark chocolate or toffee.  I like to eat some of it while it’s still soft and fresh.  If you like it a little bit more firm then freeze for at least 4 hours for the best results.

Cookies

COOOOOKKKIIIIES

Adding Cookies

And finally!

Coffee Cookie Crunch

