Lemon Bars

photo 2

I seem to have too many lemons again that are on the verge of rot.  I’m just lucky enough to have a boyfriend who loves all things lemon.  So I decided to take a stab a lemon bars.  I’ve never really been a huge lemon fan when it comes to desserts and typically go for the vanilla bean notes or dark chocolate.  It was sunny outside so a lemon inspired treat deemed fitting.  I did my usual of scouring the internet for a good recipe and emailing my Aunt.  She was out of town and didn’t have her go to recipe on hand so I went with the top hit I found via good old google.  As a cook, I hate following the exact directions, and many times when I try this method with baking….I fail.  This time was a success and I noted my changes in my recipe below:

 

photo 1 (1)

Lemon Bars (adapted from allrecipes)

Crust

2 cups flour
1 cup butter
1/2 sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla

Custard

4 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup flour
3/4 cup fresh lemon juice (about 5 lemons)
2 tsp lemon zest

photo 1

For the crust, mix together the flour, butter, salt, and sugar till its crumbly.  Then knead dough into a ball on a floured surface.   Flatten into a 9×13 baking dish and go up about 1/2 on the sides.  Chill for 25 mins.  Preheat oven to 350 and bake until golden brown.  About 15-20 mins.

To make the custard, whisk the eggs and sugar together first, and then drizzle the honey in.  I find doing it this way keeps the honey from getting balled up.  Then whisk in the flour, lemon juice and zest.  Pour mixture into the baked crust and cook for another 20 mins.  I covered mine during the last 10 mins to keep the edges from burning.

photo 3 (1)

Let it cool for an hour and then put in the fridge to set for an hour or two.  Once it looks firm, you can cut into squares or triangles.  Add powdered sugar for looks but only do so before serving or else to melts into the bars.

This was my first time making lemon bars and I was quite shocked I didn’t screw up the recipe.  Esp since I made some substitutions.  Go me!  Anyway, I really liked the flavor of these because they were more on the tart side and the lemon really popped.  I think the next round I will add even less sugar since these were a bit sweet for me.

Enjoy!

Tips

Feel free to add ground or chopped nuts to the crust for some extra texture

It may be possible to substitute all of the sugar for honey as well.  You may just need to add more flour to compensate.

