Maple Vanilla Greek Frozen Yogurt

photo 4

I recently bought an ice cream maker and couldn’t wait to make some frozen yogurt!  Ever since moving to Philly I’ve been obsessed with this lovely place called Yogorino.  I’m usually not a big frozen yogurt fan, but this is seriously the best stuff out there.  Sadly, the shop near my apt is under renovation for the winter and frankly, I’m too lazy to walk more than 5 blocks for a sweet treat with all this winter weather out there.   It’s a little pricey and I figured it can’t be that hard to make.  So homemade yogorino it is!  With my first attempt I was able to get pretty darn close to the smooth dreamy texture I’ve been longing for all winter.  I adapted the recipe here, and made a single serving.  It can be made in about 5 mins if you own an ice cream maker.

photo 1

Maple Vanilla Greek Frozen Yogurt

1 cup Greek Yogurt (I used 2% Fage)

1/4 cup Maple Syrup

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

Mix all ingredients until smooth.  Prepare your ice cream maker according to the manufacturers instruction and add cream base.  Let churn for about 5 mins and you have yummy frozen yogurt!

photo 3

Tips

If this isn’t going to be eaten right away, add  vodka or your favorite type of booze to keep it from freezing into a rock hard block.  I’d say about 1 teaspoon per cup of yogurt should work.

This churns faster than typical ice cream and must be removed promptly after churning or else it will freeze to the edge of your churning bowl.

