Carbonara Inspired Pancit (Filipino Noodles)

20140315-014649.jpg

I had limited ingredients in my fridge again and one of them happened to bacon.  I love the stuff.  I decided to get creative and make some pancit which is a Filipino version of stir fried noodles.  It’s typically vermicelli type and either made with mung beans or rice.  I prefer the rice noodles and they tend to be more traditional.  You can get a bag at the any Asian grocer for about 2 bucks.  This stuff is cheap and very versatile.  I make a few different varieties and I’ll post them eventually, but today I’m going to share my latest experiment.  Did I mention in contains bacon…?  This recipe makes enough for 2 people possibly 3.  My boyfriend just got done working a long shift at the hospital, needless to say we didn’t have any left overs.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Carbonara Inspired Pancit (Makes about 2 large servings)

4 cloves of garlic chopped

1/2 cup of onions chopped

1/8-1/4 cup of bacon fat or 2 tbs oil of choice

10 slices of bacon chopped

1/2 cup of green peppers (or any type you like)

1/2 cup mushrooms

1/2 pack rice noodles about 1/2 lb (soaked in warm water for at least 10 mins)

2 eggs or more if you like (scramble separately, fry or poach them)

2 tbs soy sauce

1/4-1/2 cup of water

1 tbs rice wine vinegar

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Add oil or bacon fat to a heated wok.  I used all the left over bacon grease from the bacon.  Toss in the garlic and onions and saute till the onions are translucent on medium heat.  Turn the heat on high and add the veggies and cook for about 2 minutes.  I also had about a 1/2 cup of left over spaghetti squash I added to the mix. Next, throw in the noodles and add 1/4 cup of water to keep the noodles from sticking.  Make sure to stir quickly and don’t let the noodles sit.  If they are sticking to the bottom of the pan add  1 tbs of water at a time until it no longer sticks.  Be careful not to add too much water, you don’t want it soupy.  Add in your soy sauce and mix until it’s a light brown color.  Finally add in the rice wine vinegar and mix evenly.  Garnish with eggs, bacon and cilantro.

